L. W. "Nubbin" Cooper Jr. County Commissioner, Precinct 1

Chris Kirkendall
County Commissioner, Precinct 2



Ernie Koch
County Commissioner, Precinct 4

Amanda Young

County Commissioner. Precinct 3

Wayne McDaniel County Judge

Hardin County Commissioners Court is currently accepting nominations for the volunteer position of Emergency Services Commissioner to serve a one-year or two-year term on the board of newly created Emergency Services District No. 7, serving the citizens of the Votaw-Thicket area, to begin on January 1, 2024.

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a political subdivision of the state with taxing authority, governed by a board consisting of five (5) Emergency Services Commissioners. ESDs operate autonomously from County Government, and all other governmental entities. It is the responsibility of Hardin County ESDs to provide fire protection and emergency medical response to the citizens located within the district served by the ESD.

A person must meet the following qualifications to serve as an ESD Commissioner:

- 1. Must be at least 18 years of age.
- 2. Must be a resident citizen of the state that is:
 - a. A qualified voter within the ESD; or
 - b. An owner of land subject to taxation within the ESD.

While there are no set criteria for appointment of an ESD Commissioner beyond the age and residency requirements listed above, Hardin County Commissioners Court is seeking certain traits in a potential ESD Commissioner, such as the ability to work well with the board and the community, basic knowledge of business practices and budgeting, and be able to pass a background check.

State law also requires the Commissioners Court to consider relevant factors in determining the individuals to appoint as ESD Commissioners, including whether the nominee has knowledge of fire prevention or emergency medical services, and knowledge that is relevant to the common policies of the ESD Board.

County Commissioners will review nominations submitted by the deadline and appoint ESD Commissioners at its Regular Meeting on December 26, 2023. The deadline to submit a Nomination Form is December 8, 2023, as instructed at the bottom of the form. Upon appointment, an ESD Commissioner must execute an Official Oath of Office, a Statement of Appointed Official, and a Conflict Disclosure Statement.

ESD 1 (Kountze) ESD 2 (Lumberton) ESD 3 (Saratoga) ESD 4 (Batson) ESD 5 (Sour Lake) ESD 6 (Silsbee) ESD 7 (Votaw-Thicket) ESD 8 (Village Mills)	
§775 of the Health & Safety Code requires that the Commissioners Court consider certain relevant factors in determining the individuals to appoint as Emergency Services Commissioners, including whether the individuals have knowledge that relates to fire prevention or emergency medical services and that is relevant to the common policies and practices of the Board.	
To serve as a member of an ESD Board a person must be: (1) at least 18 years of age; and (2) a resident citizen of the state and a qualified voter within areas served by the district, or the owner of land subject to taxation in the district.	
Upon appointment, successful nominees must execute an Official Oath of Office, a Statement of Appointed Official, and a Conflict Disclosure Statement.	
Name of Nominee	Physical Home Address of Nominee
Cell Phone Number	Email Address
Occupation	Employer
Is the Nominee a member or Employee of any Fire Department, Emergency Medical Service, or any governmental entity? If yes, provide information:	
Nominee's experience relative to fire prevention or emergency medical services:	
Nominee's experience relative to common policies and practices of the ESD Board:	
Other experience or qualifications to be considered:	
Nominee's nature of interest in Emergency Services District:	
Nomination submitted by:	
Name	Address
Cell Phone Number	Email Address
One additional page may be attached to provide further information relative to this nomination.	
Submit Nomination Form via email to: Lora.Guynes@Co.Hardin.TX.US ; or by hand-delivery to: Hardin County Cou	

Emergency Services Commissioner Nomination for 2024-2025 Term

*Deadline for Nomination Forms to be received: Friday, December 8, 2023, at 5:00PM for consideration during a Regular Meeting of Commissioners Court on Tuesday, December 26, 2023.

